Governor Banwarilal Purohit took the oath of office and secrecy to the ministers in Punjab Raj Bhawan in Chandigarh.

Punjab Ministers List 2022: Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann today inducted 10 ministers into his cabinet, including a female minister. Those who have been sworn in as ministers include Harpal Singh Cheema, Baljit Kaur, Harbhajan Singh, Lal Chand, Gurmeet Singh Meet Hayer, Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal, Laljit Singh Bhullar, Bram Shanker Jimpa, Harjot Singh Bains and Vijay Singla. Of these 10 ministers, eight are MLAs for the first time. Governor Banwarilal Purohit took the oath of office and secrecy to the ministers in Punjab Raj Bhawan in Chandigarh.

On the other hand, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has also decided to nominate Kultar Singh Sandhwan as the chairman of the Punjab Vidhan Sabha. The newly inducted ministers will take the lead in the Punjab Civil Secretariat later today and the first cabinet meeting of the AAP government will be held in the afternoon.

There are 18 berths in the cabinet, including the prime minister. Of the ten, five MLAs represent the Malwa region, four Majha and one legislator is from Doaba. Four MLAs represent reserve constituencies-Dirba, Jandiala, Malout and Bhoa. Among the ministers are Harpal Singh Cheema, a second legislator from Dirba and the Dalit face of the party. He was also the leader of the opposition in the previous meeting. Two-time Barnala MLA Gurmeet Singh Meet Hayer has also found a berth in the Mann-led closet.

Other MLAs are Dr Baljit Kaur, Harbhajan Singh of Jandiala, Dr Vijay Singla of Mansa, Lal Chand of Bhoa, Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal of Ajnala, Laljit Singh Bhullar of Patti, Brahm Shanker of Hoshiarpur and Harjot Bains of Anandpur Sahib. Cheema, a lawyer by profession, had defeated Shiromani Akali Dal’s Gulzar Singh Moonak by a margin of 50,655 votes. He was first elected as an MLA in 2017 and was also a member of the Assembly Committee on the Welfare of SCs, STs and BCs.

Meet Hayer, chairman of the youth wing of the AAP, defeated SAD nominee Kulwant Singh Keetu by a margin of 37,622 votes from the Barnala seat. The only woman to find a ministerial berth is Dr. Baljit Kaur, who beat Malout. An eye surgeon, 46, she is the daughter of Sadhu Singh, who remained an AAP MP from Faridkot from 2014 to 2019.

She joined AAP after resigning from her government job at Muktsar Civil Hospital. She had even examined eye patients at election rallies. Kaur defeated SAD nominee Harpreet Singh by 40,261 votes from Malout in the Muktsar district.

dr. Vijay Singla, 52, won against Mansa, beating popular Punjabi singer and congressional candidate Shubhdeep Singh, also known as Sidhu Moosewala, by a huge margin of 63,323 votes. Singla is a dentist and has a Bachelor of Dental Surgery from Punjabi University, Patiala.

Harjot Bains has been elected from Anandpur Sahib constituency. He defeated former speaker and congressional candidate Rana KP Singh. Bains, a lawyer by profession, had unsuccessfully objected to Sahnewal in 2017. Bains is a former chairman of the party’s youth wing.

Laljit Singh Bhullar became MLA from the Patti seat. He defeated political stalwart Adesh Partap Singh Kairon, the son-in-law of former Prime Minister Parkash Singh Badal. Bhullar joined AAP in 2019.

Harbhajan Singh won from Jandiala after defeating Punjab Congress acting president Sukhwinder Singh Danny. Harbhajan had unsuccessfully contested from the chair in 2017

Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal was elected MLA from Ajnala. He defeated SAD candidate Amarpal Singh. Dhaliwal had contested Amritsar’s 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Lal Chand Kataruchakk, who chaired the party’s SC wing, won from the Bhoa seat in Pathankot. He defeated congressional candidate Joginder Pal.

Bram Shanker Jimpa has been elected from the Hoshiarpur seat. He defeated former minister and congressional candidate Sunder Sham Arora. Earlier, the names of Aman Arora, Baljinder Kaur and Sarvjit Kaur Manuke, two-time AAP MLAs, also made the rounds for ministerial berths.

Punjab governor Banwarilal Purohit took an oath of office and secrecy to Bhagwant Mann on Wednesday at a ceremony in Khatkar Kalan, the ancestral village of freedom fighter Bhagat Singh.

The AAP won 92 seats in the 117-member Punjab Assembly, decimating the Congress, the Shiromani Akali Dal-Bahujan Samaj Party combination and the BJP-Punjab Lok Congress-SAD (Sanyukt) alliance.

(with PTI inputs)

This post Cabinet of Bhagwant Mann: 10 ministers take oath, including eight first MLAs

was original published at “”